2022 Design Award Winners

AIA Honolulu is pleased to announce the winners of the 64th Annual Design Awards, recognizing architectural design excellence for 2022. This is Hawaii’s oldest design competition — held annually since 1958 — recognizing the year’s best in architectural projects.


2022 AIA Honolulu Design Awards Booklet

All winners and entrants are featured in our special Design Awards insert included in the September issue of the Hawaii Business Magazine. View the 2022 Design Awards Insert (PDF).

AIA Honolulu has maintained an excellent partnership with aio Media Group, publisher of Hawaii Business Magazine. This alliance positions our members within a core readership of business and professional leaders as well as potential private clients.

The following exemplary projects and architects were recognized as Design Award winners from the distinguished entrants.

Congratulations to the 2022 Design Awards Recipients

Noelani Elementary School I.D.E.A. Center

Award of Excellence (Institutional)
Noelani Elementary School I.D.E.A. Center 

Firm: Urban Works, Inc.
Client: State Department of Education
Contractor: Ralph S. Inouye Company
Location: Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: Kevin Loo-Chan, AIA

Musubi House

Award of Excellence & Hawaii Home+Remodeling Editor's Choice Award (Residential)
Musubi House

Firm: Craig Steely Architecture
Client: Guy and Stacy Brand
Contractor: Kauhale Kilohana Builders
Location: Paauilo, Hawaii Island, Hawaii
Photo: Darren Bradley Photography

Hawaii Employer’s Mutual Insurance Company (HEMIC) Tower Renovation

Award of Merit (Interior Architecture)
HEMIC Tower Renovation 

Firm: Ferraro Choi And Associates Ltd.
Client: HEMIC
Contractor: Jay Kadowaki Inc.
Location: Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Punahou School, Sidney and Minnie Kosasa Community for Grades 2-5

Award of Merit & Hawaii Energy Award for Energy — Efficient Design (Institutional)
Punahou School, Sidney & Minnie Kosasa Community for Grades 2–5

Firm: Design Partners Incorporated
Client: Punahou School
Contractor: Nordic PCL Construction Inc.
Location: Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: Punahou School

Kobayashi & Kosasa Family Dining Room

Award of Merit (Interior Architecture
Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children, Kobayashi & Kosasa Family Dining Room

Firm: Peter Vincent Architects
Client: Hawaii Pacific Health
Contractor: Constructors Hawaii Inc.
Location: Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: Andrea Brizzi Photography

Wailua Retreat

Award of Merit (Residential)
Wailua Resort

Firm: Tadpole
Photo: Aaron Yoshino

Kaneshiro Science & Innovation Center

Honorable Mention (Institutional)
Iolani School Kaneshiro Science & Innovation Center / Sidney & Minnie Kosasa Performance Studios

Firm: G70
Client: Iolani School
Contractor: Allied Builders System
Location: Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: Mariko Reed

The Salvation Army Kroc Center

Community Impact Award
The Salvation Army Kroc Center Hawaii

Firm: G70
Client: The Salvation Army
Contractor: Hawaiian Dredging Construction Co.
Location: Ewa Beach, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: David Franzen Photography

UH Life Sciences Building

Mayor's Choice Award (Institutional)
University of Hawaii, Life Sciences Building

Firm: G70
Client: University of Hawaii
Contractor: Layton Construction Company, LLC
Location: Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: Olivier Koning

Mauka Concourse

USGBC Hawaii Sustainability Award (Commercial/Industrial)
Mauka Concourse

Firm: KYA Inc.
Client: State of Hawaii Department of Transportation — Airports Division
Contractor: Hensel Phelps
Location Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo: KYA Inc.; Roger Osentoski

Student Design Awards

Established in 2016, the Student Design Awards were created to honor student achievements in the design studio and provide a forum for student design excellence to be celebrated beyond the academic setting.

Hoa Hai Worker Housing

Award of Excellence (Graduate)
Hoa Hai Worker Housing

Students: Logan Aruga, Kenneth Guillen, Bryson Tabaniag, Austin Tse
School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture

Wiki Hale

Award of Excellence (Undergraduate)
Wiki Hale

Students: Toby Baladad, Jasmyn Carlos, Demetrio Castillo, Bethney de la Torre, Gemma Halim, Noreen Ibana, Frank Jiang, Karolyn Jones, Brandon Keene, Rianna-Destri Lee, Angelie Mae Mariano, D’Elle Martin, Morgan Ohashi, Katelen Orquia, Ty Taguchi, Perscilla Tovar, William Von Seggern
School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture


Honorable Mention (Graduate)
Paakai — Mixed-Use Residential Complex

Students: Chad Bolte, Kaylen Daquioag, Kaimana Tuazon, Hunter Wells
School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture


Honorable Mention (Undergraduate)
Kewalo (Nature Preserve)

Student: Herman Lau
School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture


Honorable Mention (Undergraduate)
Ola Hou Youth Center

Student: Desiree Joy Malabed
School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture


Zero Waste Center (Undergraduate)
People's Choice Award

People's Choice Award (Undergraduate)
Zero Wate Center

Student: Thanh Nguyen
School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture

2022 Design Award Jury

Juror selection is based upon locating impartial individuals who represent high levels of achievement, design quality and professional integrity. Every attempt is made to create a balanced panel that will provide fair judgment to all entries. We are excited to introduce our 2022 jury, who this year consists of five individuals, two of whom are members of an AIA chapter outside of Hawaii. Three jurors are Hawaii residents to ensure that the uniqueness of Hawaii Architecture is recognized and appreciated by non-local jurors. Click here for the Jury Bios (PDF).

Introducing our 2022 Esteemed Jurors!

  • Derrick Choi, AIA (AIA Boston Society for Architecture), Senior Associate, Northeast Regional Aviation Practice Area Leader, Gensler
  • Mayumi Hara Dao, AIA (AIA Honolulu) Architect at John Hara Associates Inc. and Mayumi Hara Dao Architect, LLC
  • Jennifer Park, AIA (AIA Chicago) Principal, Brininstool + Lynch
  • Brian Strawn, AIA (AIA Honolulu) Co-founder of Strawn Sierralta and Principal Investigator at UHCDC
  • Polly Tice, Principal & Research Section Director at MASON

Members of the design awards committee whose firms have submitted in that year may not be present and/or may not participate during any aspect of jury deliberations.

Thank You to our 2022 Design Awards Sponsors!

Premier Sponsor
Cocktail Sponsors
Award Sponsors
Printing Sponsors
People Sponsors
Pupu Sponsors
Student Sponsors
AIA Honolulu

Upcoming Events