AIA Continuing Education
Share |

AIA Member Continuing Education Requirements

All active AIA members must successfully complete a minimum of 18 Learning Units (LUs) per calendar year. Of this total, 12 must meet the Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW) criteria.


Need AIA/CES LUs?

  • Self-Report Your Credits
    AIA members have the option to self-report independent activities or research.  Click here for a refresher on the Self-Report form. View your transcript and do your AIA/CES self-report online.

AIA Transcript Service

All active AIA members will have their time recorded for credit by the registered provider when attending programs registered through AIA National.

For assistance call AIA National at (800) 242-3837 Option 3.

Non-Members: All non-AIA members need to keep their own record but for AIA Honolulu registered events we can provide a printed certificate of completion upon request for $20.


Hawaii State Licensing for Architects

The State of Hawaii's renewal cycle for professional licensing of Architects, Engineers, Surveyors and Landscape Architects is every two years in April. The next date for license renewal will be April 30, 2020 (2022, 2024, 2026).

Between May 1, 2018 - April 30, 2020 You Need 16 Hours of Education

Architects renewing their license must certify that they have met the 16 hours of continuing education (CE) over the biennium (2 year license period) in public protection topics, health, safety and welfare (HSW); as required by the State of Hawaii. Fulfillment of the CE requirement is subject to random audit by the State of Hawaii. In most cases, the AIA HSW requirement for members will meet the State provision.

AIA Members: Check your AIA transcripts using the date range of May 1, 2018 through April 30, 2020.

Non-Members: Keep and maintain your own education records up to date in case of audit. Read more.

Newly Licensed?

If a person was licensed during the 1st year of the biennium, 8 CE credits are required. If licensed during the 2nd year of the biennium, no CE is required.

Licensed in other States?

View Interactive Map showing CES requirements for all 50 states and District of Columbia. Mouse over to view state requirements and click on state to be taken to their licensing jurisdiction.


Renew Your Hawaii License Online and On Time!

On-time renewals for the licensing period of May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2022 will begin Monday, March 5, 2020 and end midnight (HST) Monday, April 30, 2020

Renewal postcard reminders will be mailed out March 2, 2020
Renew online at https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl
MyPVL” and Renewal FAQs

To be guaranteed a pocket card by April 30, 2020
Renewals should be submitted by March 30, 2020

Failure to timely renew by license expiration date will result in the forfeiture of the license. Read more.

Platinum Sponsors