2023 Design Award Winners

AIA Honolulu is pleased to announce the winners of the 65th Annual Design Awards, recognizing architectural design excellence for 2023. This is Hawaii’s oldest design competition — held annually since 1958 — recognizing the year’s best in architectural projects.
2023 AIA Honolulu Design Awards Booklet
Available this September!

All winners and entrants are featured in our special Design Awards insert included in the September issue of the Hawaii Business Magazine.

AIA Honolulu has maintained an excellent partnership with aio Media Group, publisher of Hawaii Business Magazine. This alliance positions our members within a core readership of business and professional leaders as well as potential private clients.

The following exemplary projects and architects were recognized as Design Award winners from the distinguished entrants.

Congratulations to the 2023 Design Awards Recipients!

Award of Excellence:

Island Studio (Residential)

Firm: Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Contractor: Armstrong Builders
Project Location: Honolulu, Oahu, HI
Photo Credits: Nic Lehoux

Award of Excellence:

ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Campus (Unbuilt)

Firm: Brian Strawn, AIA & Karla Sierralta, AIA / University of Hawaii Community Design Center (UHCDC)

Client: University of Hawaii at Hilo
Project location:
Hilo, Hawaii Island, HI
Photo credits: Tom Takata Photography

Honorable Mention:

Waikoloa Middle School Classroom Building (Institutional)

Firm: WRNS Studio

Client: State of Hawaii Department of Education
Contractor: Nan Inc.
Project location:
Waikoloa, Big Island, Hawaii
Photo credits: Andrew Richard Hara

Honorable Mention:

Waikiki Market (Interior Architecture)

Firm: Lowney Architecture

Additional Design Firms: Looney Architecture (Restaurant Design); Interstore (Grocery Display Casework & Fixtures)
Food Pantry Ltd.
Contractor: Swinerton Builders
Project location:
Honolulu, Oahu, HI

Photo credits: Adam Taylor Photography

Honorable Mention:

Papa'aloa Homestead (Residential)

Firm: Craig Steely Architecture

Client: Gary Beuschel and John Kruse
Hilo Coast Construction
Project location:
Pāpa'aloa, Big Island, Hawaii
Photo credits: Darren Bradley

Community Impact Award + Hawaii Energy Award for Excellence in Energy-Efficient Design:

Ho‘okupu Center (Institutional)

Firm: G70

Client: Kupu Hawaii
J. Kadowaki, Inc.
Project location:
Honolulu, Oahu, HI
Photo credits: Olivier Koning Photography

Distinctive Detail Award:

Beyond Wayfinding: Prototypes

Firm: Brian Strawn, AIA & Karla Sierralta, AIA, University of Hawaii Community Design
Center & Kūha'o Zane, Nalani Kanaka‘ole and Sig Zane, Sig Zane Kaiao

Client: University of Hawaii at Manoa
Project location:
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii
Photo credits: Tom Takata Photography

People's Choice Award:

Brigham Young University Hawaii Science Building (Institutional)

Firm: AHL

Additional Design Firm: Chernoff Thompson Architects (Lab Designer)
Brigham Young University - Hawaii
Okland Construction
Project location:
Laie, Oahu, HI
Photo credits: Andrea Brizzi Photography

Hawaii Home + Remodeling Editor's Choice Award:

Coral House (Residential)

Firm: de Reus Architects

Additional Design Firm: Philpotts Interiors (Interior Design)
Colt Construction
Project location:
Maui, Hawaii
Photo credits: Travis Rowan

Mayor's Choice Award:

Beachfront Sea Level Rise Adaptation (Unbuilt)

Firm: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture Environmental Research and Design Laboratory; Sea Grant UH Center for Smart Building and Community Design; School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology, Climate Resilience Collaborative

Project location: Honolulu, Oahu, HI
Rendering Credit: Desiree Malabed, Georgina Casey, Eric Teeples and Gerry Failano

Student Design Awards Recipients

Established in 2016, the Student Design Awards were created to honor student achievements in the design studio and provide a forum for student design excellence to be celebrated beyond the academic setting.

Honorable Mention:

Bishop Museum (Graduate)

Student: Zoe Angelopulo

School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture

Honorable Mention:

FoodHub Avenue (Undergraduate)

Student: Airon Castaneda

School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture

Honorable Mention:

Seed-To-Waste Center (Undergraduate)

Student: Thanh Nguyen

School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture

People's Choice Award:

Pixel Forest (Undergraduate)

Student: Hieu Huynh

School: University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Architecture

2023 Design Awards Jury

Juror selection is based upon locating impartial individuals who represent high levels of achievement, design quality and professional integrity. Every attempt is made to create a balanced panel that will provide fair judgment to all entries. We are excited to introduce our 2022 jury, who this year consists of five individuals, two of whom are members of an AIA chapter outside of Hawaii. Three jurors are Hawaii residents to ensure that the uniqueness of Hawaii Architecture is recognized and appreciated by non-local jurors.

Introducing our 2023 Esteemed Jurors!

  • Jessica Figenholtz, AIA, LEED AP (AIA Charlotte), Associate Principal at Perkins & Will
  • Louis Fung, AIA (AIA Honolulu), Principal at FAI Architects
  • Hazel Go, AIA (AIA Honolulu) Associate & Project Architect at WCIT Architecture
  • Chris Hong, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP (AIA Honolulu), Principal at Chris Hong Design LLC
  • Michael Lee, RA, NCARB, LEED AP (Seattle), Principal at Bench Dog Architects

Members of the design awards committee whose firms have submitted in that year may not be present and/or may not participate during any aspect of jury deliberations.

Thank You to our 2023 Design Awards Sponsors!

Kaiaulu Premier Sponsor
Pupu Sponsors
Cocktail Sponsors
Award Sponsor
Mamalu Sponsors
Kahua Sponsors
Dessert Sponsor
Printing Sponsor
AIA Honolulu

Upcoming Events