Architect Registration Examination
Share |

Architect Registration Examination

Becoming an architect is a three step process called the "Three Es", which are: Education, Experience and Examination. Below you will find information on the Examination (ARE) part.

Architect Registration Examination (ARE)

The Architect Registration Examination (ARE®) is a multi-division exam used to assess your knowledge and skills regarding the practice of architecture. Developed by NCARB, the exam is accepted by all U.S. jurisdictions and is a key step on the path to earning a license.

The ARE is designed to assess aspects of architectural practice that affect the integrity, soundness, and health impact of a building. The exam also assesses an architect’s responsibilities within firms, such as managing projects and coordinating the work of other professionals.  The ARE is developed and maintained by NCARB.

Learn about ARE 5.0

Learn more about ARE 5.0 (launched Nov. 1, 2016) featuring six divisions organized around the progression of a typical architecture project. The divisions can be taken in any order and include a combination of multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, fill-in-the-blank, hot spot, and drag-and-place questions, as well as case studies.

Transition from ARE 4.0 to ARE 5.0

If you're thinking about transitioning to 5.0 the ARE Transition Calculator will help you plan the ideal testing strategy to complete the ARE. Select ARE 4.0 divisions to see how they will be credited in ARE 5.0 through either the calculator or credit model views.

Need Study ARE 5.0  Materials?

Click here for everything you need to study for the ARE—including practice questions, video tutorials, and suggested references.

Join the ARE 5.0 Community

Get real-time help from NCARB’s experts, share study tips with fellow candidates, and find local study groups.

Explore the ARE 5.0 Guidelines

The document includes an overview of the exam, plus details on scheduling a division, receiving your score, and more. Learn more.

ARE/AXP (former IDP) Concurrency Allowed in Hawaii

As of May 10, 2013, the State of Hawaii allows degree-holders of a bachelor’s, master’s or higher degree in architecture from a school or college approved by the Board as of satisfactory standing, and who are enrolled in the Architectural Experience Program (former IDP), to sit concurrently for the Architectural Record Examination (ARE).

AIA Honolulu and AIA Hawaii State Council offered their strong support, read our testimony (PDF).

ARE Contacts

For questions in regards to the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®), it is important you contact to the right place.

  • Hawaii State Licensing Coordinator: Jason DeMarco, AIA,
  • NCARB: For questions contact NCARB at 202-783-6500 or
  • Prometric:  NCARB's test development/operations consultant. Schedule an exam appt? 800-479-6215.
  • ARE Helpdesk:  For all other questions contact the ARE Helpdesk: 800-896-2272.
  • State of Hawaii: Click here for the State of Hawaii's Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs Professional and Vocational Licensing website for more information and phone numbers.

Platinum Sponsors